The Very First

February 4, 2009 at 14:06 | Posted in nigeosyncline | 3 Comments

You’ll never get a second chance to make a first impression.

This is the first of many posts in what I think is the first blog on geology from a Nigerian perspective. Though of course issues from other fields will find their way into this blog from time to time (not too frequently I hope).

Why start a blog in the first place?

For some, it starts with a desire to be present on the internet. “To type your name on Google and a result comes out”. I had that desire at one time or the other. I think I heard the word blog for the first time in 2005 in my 2nd undergraduate year. I started considering starting one after the suggestion of a friend. What would I blog about? I was, to begin with, sceptical about the need for another blog on geology. On Nigerian geology? I had not and still have not come across one on that topic. “Then start one!” My friend suggested. “Your other Friend started a blog on Contemporary Nigerian Art.” He added. I promised to give it a thought.

As I am at the beginning of a career as a geologist (hopefully) in the academia, Nigeosyncline would actually be a sort of chronicle of my attempts to grapple with the challenges which face geologists in Nigeria. It won’t be presumptuous to say many young Nigerian geologists would be able to identify with some of the things here.

Now the blog is here and I hope as time goes by I’ll be putting a lot more on this blog. l am getting around to understanding my dashboard so there may be frequent changes to look appearance of the blog until I get a firm hand on the blogging business.

3 Comments »

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

  1. Okay let’s begin…

  2. Hi rookie,
    great start. Let’s hope this addresses the issues as necessary
    Best wishes.

  3. Welcome to the geoblogosphere! Just noticed your blog because of your Accretionary Wedge link at Geotripper.


Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.
Entries and comments feeds.

